Urantia Book Forum

Urantia Book Discussion Board : Study Group
It is currently Mon Sep 16, 2019 6:13 am +0000

All times are UTC - 7 hours

PostPosted:  

I have been a student of the Bible for 44 years, and I only recently, beginning January 2014, acquainted myself with the Urantia Book.

As I was reading through, I could not help but notice that this book contains literally hundreds of quotes directly from the Bible. Now unless one really knows the Bible, one would not really detect this, because the Urantia Book does not cite chapters and verses.

It is no secret that the Urantia Book does take issue with the Bible in some areas, such as the Christian doctrines of the atonement and of original sin, and the Bible's portrait betimes of God as a cruel, rash, and unrighteous tyrant.

Even so, it is said in this book that the Bible, up to the present point, is indeed the greatest book on the subject of religion that has existed on Urantia for so many centuries. It seems to me that the Urantia Book thoroughly upholds at least 80% of the Bible.

And this fact causes me to marvel at the fact that nearly all of the devotees of the Urantia Book that I have thus far come across viscerally HATE the Bible, and want nothing to do with it.

So my question: Do they believe that the Urantia Book REALLY condemns the Bible?
To me, it really doesn't look like it does.

I honestly believe that it would prove to be a great service to society if these same devotees of the Urantia Book could at least read and learn about the Bible, just for the sake of a civilized education, if not for righteousness' sake.

Agree?

Last edited by Raymond Benjamins on Fri Sep 25, 2015 2:59 pm +0000, edited 1 time in total.

Profile Send private message  
PostPosted:  

Greetings Raymond Benjamins,

You wrote:
Raymond Benjamins wrote: