Do you attend church?
Yes 39%  39%  [ 11 ]
No 46%  46%  [ 13 ]
Can't find a suitable one 14%  14%  [ 4 ]
It's sorta like a church but... 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Total votes : 28
 Post subject: Going to church
PostPosted:  

I was just wondering if y'all attend church... why and why not... and what criteria ya used to select a church...

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted:  
Site Admin

I said no because I attend church so infrequently. I like churches and I've gone to just about every kind you can shake a stick at and found all of them to have, if not a particularly spiritual component then at least a peaceful or camaraderie atmosphere. No, Urantians don't believe a lot of what's preached at churches but that's not an adequate excuse for staying away. I'm not a proponent of Urantian churches but I am a proponent of Urantians going to the churches of their choice and becoming involved in the social and religious aspects churches already provide.

Larry

Post subject:
PostPosted:  

I never thought of that. Not a bad idea! 8)

Post subject: going to church
PostPosted:  

No

For the exception of weddings and funerals I don't go. Knowing what I know keeps me away. If I knew of a church that had a good worship service I would consider it. The closes I go is on the radio. I listen to Chuck Smiths Calvary Chapel out of San Clemente to keep up with the fundamental preaching. There are some Pastors who have a very active Spirit and if they only new the UB. And then there are some who are way out in left field.

My future work requires that I keep informed and the radio does the trick.

Jess

Post subject:
PostPosted:  

I don't go to church.I wind up comparing what I hear there to the Ubook.
I know we are supposed to not sell the Ubook (except by example),ao I just don't get into that. Here in the Bible Belt,there is always an opportunity for debate. I figure we can all learn together in the next world.

Post subject:
PostPosted:  

Why or why not?